Porsche Carerra Cup Germany – Race 11 Nürburgring

Michael Ammermüller (Walter Lechner Racing Team) from Germany has won round eleven of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland.

Saturday’s race on the Nürburgring, however, was filled with thrills and spills with a seven-car pile-up in the first lap stopping the race. When the race resumed, Ammermüller defended his top position to the flag, followed by Dutchman Jaap van Lagen (TECE MRS-Racing) and his compatriot Pieter Schothorst (Mc Gregor powered by Attempto Racing). “Things were really chaotic in the race. So I’m now very pleased with first place,” said Ammermüller after scoring his third victory this year at the wheel of the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup.

Michael Ammermüller (D)

Taking up the race from pole position, Ammermüller made a clean start with van Lagen slotting in behind. A collision at the end of the first lap involved the vehicles of Porsche junior Sven Müller (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), Nicki Thiim (DK/QPOD Walter Lechner Racing), Rolf Ineichen (CH/Konrad Motorsport), Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), Porsche junior Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing by Häring), Tom Dillmann (F/Team 75 Bernhard) and Sean Johnston (USA/Team Deutsche Post/Pole Promotion by Project 1). The race was interrupted with Ineichen and Lukas undergoing a routine medical examination.

Jaap van Lagen (NL)

After a 25-minute break, the race restarted behind the safety car, where Ammermüller held his lead at the top. The race ran for another 15 minutes and the front-running pack raced to the flag. “That was pretty wild seeing all the demolished cars. It’s great to climb the podium for MRS Racing,” stated van Lagen. Schothorst’s third place was his first podium result this season. “I’m really pleased with my good result and I also take up Sunday’s race from third on the grid,” said Schothorst. Jeffrey Schmidt (Lechner Racing Academy ME) from Switzerland scored fourth place ahead of Norbert Siedler (A/ZaWotec Racing) in fifth. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) netted sixth, with young gun Lukas Schreier (D/ZaWotec Racing) celebrating his best result of the season with seventh.

Pieter Schothorst (NL)

The driver’s classification after eleven of 18 races is still led by Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard) holding 128 points. Bamber, however, is unable to contest the rest of the season race due to his commitments in the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia where he won this weekend and also ranks first in the standings. Behind him with 124 points sits Ammermüller ahead of Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport) with 118 points. Porsche junior Connor de Phillippi (Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport) finished the race in eleventh and ranks fourth in the series (107 points). “After a bungled qualifying at least I managed to come from 22nd to eleventh. I’m excited to see what I can do tomorrow,” said de Phillippi.

Podium: Jaap van Lagen (NL), Michael Ammermüller (D), Pieter Schothorst (NL)

Porsche junior Müller stewed over his retirement: “My qualifying ran really well with third and then came this unfortunate chain of events which involved my car. I start Sunday’s race from second and I’m hoping I can finish on the podium.” The 460 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup of Porsche junior Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing by Häring) was even worse off. “After my second in Spielberg, I’m bitterly disappointed not to take any points home. Hopefully my car can be repaired in time for the next race in 15 hours,” said Riberas.

B-Podium: Wolf Nathan (NL)

Result race 11:
1. Michael Ammermüller (D/Walter Lechner Racing Team)
2. Jaap van Lagen (NL/TECE MRS-Racing)
3. Pieter Schothorst (NL/Mc Gregor powered by Attempto Racing)
4. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Lechner Racing Academy ME)
5. Norbert Siedler (A/ZaWotec Racing)
6. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
7. Lukas Schreier (D/ZaWotec Racing)
8. Niclas Kentenich (D/Aust Motorsport)

Points standings after 11 of 18 races:
Driver’s classification
1. Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard), 128 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/Walter Lechner Racing Team), 124 points
3. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport), 118 points
4. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), 107 points
5. Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport), 106 points

*All results and classifications are preliminary