Ammermüller wins race 13 at Lausitz

Thick fog threw the schedule into disarray for Saturday’s race on the Lausitzring.

Podium: Philipp Eng (A), Michael Ammermüller (D), Christian Engelhart (D)

Germany’s Michael Ammermüller (D/Walter Lechner Racing Team), however, kept his cool with the constant postponements and claimed an emphatic victory at race 13 of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. This marks the Bavarian’s fourth win so far this season. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1) and Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport) saw the flag in second and third respectively. “Everything ran smoothly for me in the race. The car was excellent and I didn’t make any mistakes,” said Ammermüller.

Start at Lausitz

The scheduled qualifying session to determine the grid positions for Sunday’s race did not take place due to the fact that the dense fog could prevent the rescue helicopter from taking off in the event of an emergency. Finally at 3pm under rainy conditions the qualifying began. The session, however, had to be red-flagged four times as a result of cars spinning on the track. In the end, Ammermüller clinched pole position for Saturday’s race, with Clemens Schmid (A/Lechner Racing Academy ME) starting from the first grid spot on Sunday.

Michael Ammermüller (D)

When the field set off at 18.05 hours on Saturday evening, Ammermüller stormed to the front ahead of Nicki Thiim (DK/QPOD Walter Lechner Racing) and Eng. In the first corner, a midfield collision on the damp track resulted in Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport) having to park his vehicle. The safety car was sent out. The re-start after two laps went without mishap. In lap six, the order was reshuffled with Thiim receiving a drive-through penalty for a jump start, which threw him down the field from second place to position 21. The order now was Ammermüller, Eng and Porsche junior Sven Müller (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1). Müller attempted to put Eng under pressure with Ammermüller ultimately benefitting from their battle. The 28-year-old Lechner pilot pulled clear and put eight seconds between him and his pursuers. Müller drew the short straw and fell back to position three. “I made a tiny mistake, but Engelhart saw it straight away. He and Schmid made their move and overtook me. Luckily I managed to reclaim Schmid,” exclaimed Sven.

Phillip Eng

Schmid swept over the finish line in fifth, with Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Lechner Racing Academy ME) in sixth followed by Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport) in seventh. Porsche junior Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing by Häring) claimed eighth. “I started from twelfth so eighth is okay. Unfortunately my start wasn’t that great. This is something I have to work on,” said Riberas. Porsche junior Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport) took the flag behind Riberas and was satisfied with his race: “I came from 15th on the grid to position nine, despite sustaining damage to my car in the first lap crash. All the warning lights were on in the cockpit and I had less downforce than usual. Considering this I think it was pretty good.” Porsche junior Klaus Bachler (A/Team 75 Bernhard) received a 30-second penalty for driving too fast under yellow and was classified in position 22.

Clemens Schmid (A)

Jeffrey Schmidt (CH)

Engelhart made an impressive comeback with his Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. The German headed into the race from position eleven to finally secure all-important championship points for third place. With 145 points, this puts Engelhart one point ahead of Ammermüller (144). Eng ranks third in the championship with 132 points in front of Müller (130). With 100 points still available from five races, this gripping championship is still wide open.

Christian Engelhart (D)

Race 14 of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland starts on Sunday on the Lausitzring at 10.35 hours. However, fog is also predicted for tomorrow which could very well result in changes to the timetable.

Result race 13:
1. Michael Ammermüller (D/Walter Lechner Racing Team)
2. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
3. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport)
4. Sven Müller (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
5. Clemens Schmid (A/Lechner Racing Academy ME)
6. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Lechner Racing Academy ME)
7. Christopher Zöchling (A/Konrad Motorsport)
8. Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing by Häring)
9. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport)
10. Pieter Schothost (NL/McGregor powered by Attempto Racing)

Points standings after 13 of 18 races:
Driver classification
1. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport), 145 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/Walter Lechner Racing Team), 144
3. Philipp Eng (A/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 132
4. Sven Müller (D/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 130
5. Earl Bamber (NZ/Team 75 Bernhard), 128

*All results and classifications are preliminary

Comments are closed.