2019 Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT team photo

Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team has launched its Yaris WRC car and its full squad of drivers and co-drivers.

Joining the team for 2019 is the British crew of Kris Meeke and his new co-driver Seb Marshall, with the Autosport International show representing their first official appearance with the team.

The pair joins Ott Tänak, Martin Järveoja, Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila, who last year helped Toyota to claim the manufacturers’ title in just the second season of its return to the WRC.

Key to that success was developments made to improve the Yaris WRC throughout the season based upon the lessons gained from previous rallies. These developments have been carried through to the beginning of the 2019 season, which gets underway with Rallye Monte-Carlo on the 24th of January.

Team boss, Tommi Mäkinen, had this to say at the launch, “It’s brilliant to return to the show for the launch of the 2019 season as the reigning manufacturers’ champions.

We know that a lot of fans in the UK, in particular, have been very excited about Kris and Seb joining our team, so this is quite a fitting place for us to start the year. What we were able to achieve last season was incredible, thanks to the hard work of the whole team to constantly improve the Yaris WRC.

We start this year with the same successful package, but we keep on working to make a better car. Now we want to defend our manufacturers’ title while also winning the drivers’ championship. It will not be easy because we will face even stronger competition, but everybody is confident of a good season.”