Sebastien Ogier (FRA) Julien Ingrassia (FRA) of team Citroen Total WRT celebrate after winning the World Rally Championship Monte-Carlo in Gap,France on January 27, 2019

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia have secured the win on Rallye Monte-Carlo, for the sixth time in a row.

The Frenchman won the rally 2.2 seconds in front of a hard-charging Thierry Neuville. Ogier started the last day of the event battling intermittent engine problems but still managed to finish the second power stage 1.7 seconds faster than Neuville, putting him into a winning position and Citroën to the top of the championship standings. The win was especially sweet for the French manufacturer as they celebrated their 100th win in their 100th anniversary year.

Ott Tanak (EST) Martin Jarveoja (EST) of team Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT is seen racing at shakedown during the World Rally Championship Monte-Carlo in Gap, France on January 24, 2019
Photo: Jaanus Ree/Red Bull Content Pool

Neuville made a mistake in SS7 that cost him crucial seconds, gifting Ogier the space he needed to take the victory. Early rally leader Ott Tänak put in a spirited drive, taking several stage wins and ended the event in third place, beating Jari-Matti Latvala and Sébastien Loeb to the podium.

Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Daniel Elena (MCO) of team Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT is seen racing at shakedown during the World Rally Championship Monte-Carlo in Gap, France on January 24, 2019
Photo: Ivo Kivistik / Red Bull Content Pool

Driving the Hyundai competitively for the first time Sébastien Loeb grabbed a pair of stage wins on the way to finishing fourth overall.

Latvala was fifth, dropping in the rankings on the final day; the Finn complaining about his driving and the set-up of the car.

His new teammate Kris Meeke finished sixth in his Toyota debut after suffering from tyre trouble on Saturday. Nonetheless, the driver from Northern Ireland won the final Power Stage to secure five bonus points, which put him fourth in the championship.

M-Sport Ford Gus Greensmith Rallye Monte-Carlo 2019
Gus Greensmith – Ford Fiesta R5 – Photo: M-Sport

The UK’s Gus Greensmith claimed seventh overall as well as the winner’s spot for M-Sport Ford WRT in the newly created FIA WRC 2 Pro category, one place ahead of Yoann Bonato in eighth, who took the FIA WRC 2 win. Stephane Sarrazin and Adrien Formaux completed the top 10.

Retirements included Esapekka Lappi, who faced mechanical problems, as well as Andreas Mikkelsen and Elfyn Evans, who both made driving mistakes.

Next up on the FIA Rally Championship calendar is Rally Sweden from the 14th to the 17th of February, a classic winter event that ventures deep into the frozen and remote forests of Sweden and Norway.

1Sebastien Ogier / Julien IngrassiaCitroen C3 WRC3hr 21min 15.9sec
2Thierry Neuville / Nicolas GilsoulHyundai i20 Coupe WRC3hr 21min 18.1sec
3Ott Tänak / Martin JärveojaToyota Yaris WRC3hr 23min 31.1sec
4Sebastien Loeb / Daniel ElenaHyundai i20 Coupe WRC3hr 23min 44.1sec
5Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka AnttilaToyota Yaris WRC3hr 23min 45.8sec
6Kris Meeke / Sebastian MarshallToyota Yaris WRC3hr 26min 52.1sec
7Gus Greensmith / Elliott EdmondsonFord Fiesta R53hr 34min 20.5sec
8Yoann Bonato / Benjamin BoulloudCitroen C3 R53hr 35min 12.4sec
9Stephane Sarrazin / Jacques-Julien RenucciHyundai i20 R53hr 35min 22.7sec
10Adrien Fourmaux / Renaud JamoulFord Fiesta R53hr 37min 19.3sec