Porsche Announce 2020 Works Drivers

News out of Stuttgart as Porsche Motorsport announce their driver line-up for the 2020 racing season.

News out of Stuttgart as Porsche Motorsport announce their driver line-up for the 2020 racing season.

With 2019 being one of the best ever seasons for the factory – taking titles in three major GT series – members of the board, including Wolfgang Porsche himself, honoured the achievements of drivers and racing teams from across the globe at a special event at Weissach.

Porsche will be back at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, for the 88th running of the classic race. For 2020, the factory will run four works cars, two from FIA WEC, and two from IMSA in the USA. Both squads will field the all-new 911 RSR (2019 model). 

The new 911 has already shown its potential with a pair of one-two finishes and two pole positions from three races. The new car will make its North American debut when it takes to the track to contest the 24-hour race at Daytona next month; driven by Nick Tandy and Frédéric Makowiecki in the #911. Tandy and Mako will be supported at longer races by Matt Campbell.

Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor will contest the 2020 IMSA season in the #912, with Frenchman Mathieu Jaminet providing support for endurance races.

During the 2020 season, 18 drivers will form the works squad across both GT and Formula E. Among them will be two Porsche Young Professionals, Julien Andlauer & Thomas Preining. Porsche Juniors, Jaxon Evans & Ayhancan Güven, will contest the 2020 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. 

Formula E test and development drivers Simona de Silvestro and Thomas Preining will also take on GT driving duties. De Silvestro will join Klaus Bachler at the Team 75 Bernhard squad to contest the ADAC GT Masters. Preining will race in the Intercontinental GT Challenge, the Blancpain Endurance Series, and the FIA WEC, where he will drive for Dempsey Proton Racing.

Porsche will offer factory support to teams racing in all categories of international GT racing. Porsche engineers, drivers and staff will be at race tracks around the world in support of customer teams.

Porsche Motorsport Driver squad 2020
Porsche works drivers
  • Earl Bamber (29/New Zealand)
  • Gianmaria Bruni (38/Italy)
  • Matt Campbell (24/Australia)
  • Michael Christensen (29/Denmark)
  • Romain Dumas (41/France)
  • Kévin Estre (31/France)
  • Mathieu Jaminet (25/France)
  • Neel Jani (35/Switzerland)
  • Richard Lietz (35/Austria)
  • Patrick Long (38/USA)
  • André Lotterer (38/Germany) 
  • Frédéric Makowiecki (39/France)
  • Sven Müller (27/Germany)
  • Patrick Pilet (38/France)
  • Simona de Silvestro (31/Switzerland)
  • Nick Tandy (35/Great Britain)
  • Laurens Vanthoor (28/Belgium)
  • Dirk Werner (38/Germany)
Porsche Young Professionals
  • Thomas Preining (21/Austria)
  • Julien Andlauer (20/France)
Porsche Juniors
  • Jaxon Evans (23/New Zealand)
  • Ayhancan Güven (21/Turkey)
Overview of racing series
ABB FIA Formel E Championship Season 6

99X Electric – Neel Jani / André Lotterer

FIA World Endurance Championship 2019/20
  • 911 RSR #91 – Gianmaria Bruni / Richard Lietz 
  • 911 RSR #92 – Michael Christensen / Kévin Estre
IMSA WeatherTech Championship 2020
  • 911 RSR #911 – Frédéric Makowiecki / Nick Tandy / Matt Campbell (only North American Endurance Cup)
  • 911 RSR #912 – Earl Bamber / Laurens Vanthoor / Mathieu Jaminet (only North American Endurance Cup)
Intercontinental GT Challenge
  • 911 GT3 R
  • Matt Campbell
  • Mathieu Jaminet
  • Patrick Pilet
  • Dirk Werner
  • Thomas Preining
  • Matteo Cairoli